2020 High Water Fact Sheet 6.18.20 FINAL
Quality of LIfe Survey Link: Click here www.otsego.org/qol/
Otsego County Historical Society. Click here for a link to facts about Otsego Lake: www.otsego.org/ochs
Health Department of Northwest Michigan
Michigan Deparment of Environmental Quality
Otsego Lake Rescue
For Emergencies on or near Otsege Lake CALL 911 immediately!
Animal Control 989-705-7632
Otsego County Sheriff Department 989-732-3555
BOATER SAFETY CLASS NOW AVAILABLE ON LINE:
Who Needs to Take Boater Safety?
Michigan conservation officers and Michigan county sheriffs encourage all persons operating boats in Michigan to enroll in a boating safety course.
Find out more information about boating in Michigan.
The Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities
Michigan now offers two online boating safety classes and Exam:
BoatEd.com and BoaterExam.com
WHO MAY OPERATE A PWC?
Those at least 16 years of age and born after Dec 31, 1978 may operate a PWC legally only if they gave obtained a
boating safety certificate. Those less than 14 years of age may not legally operate a PWC. Those 14 and 15 year olds
may operate a PWC legally only if 1) they have obtained a boating safety certificate and 2) Accompanied on board by
his/her parent or legal guardian or a per- son 21 years old who has been designated by parent or guardian He/she is
operating or riding the PWC at a distance of not more that 100 feet from his/her parent or guardian
WHO MAY OPERATE A BOAT?
Those less than 12 years of age: Boat powered by a motor of no more that 6 HP legally without restrictions. May
operate a boat powered by a motor of more that 6 hp but no more that 35 hp only if they have been issued a boating
safety certificate and have it on board the boat and are directly supervised on boat by a person at least 16 years of age.
May not operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 35 HP legally under any circumstances.